Two Down, One to Go

June 8, 2009

So with one thing and another going on, I’m finally making time to get back to my blog.

After all, I have important news, Carla is only 1 leg away from her Rally Excellent title. Yeah!

Perry, Carla, and I spent the weekend in Syracuse so that we could go to the Syracuse Obedience Training Club trial. I finished Carla’s RA at this club’s January trial, and everyone was so nice, we decided to go back again. Perry decided to come along as well, so the kids spent a fun weekend with my brother and SIL, and we had grown up time AND a dog show – my kind of weekend!

Carla worked well both days. The judge for this trial was very nice, and put together an interesting course, but she was tough! The first day, we scored a 75. We IP’d (failed) 2 exercises, both entirely my fault. The first IP was on the Come Front Finish Left. The come front went fine, but when Carla finished, I look down and said “good dog” at which point she popped out of the sit. If I had been really on the ball and just moved forward we would have been fine (maybe a 1 point deduction) but instead, I had her sit again, which caused us to fail the exercise, 10 points gone. The other IP was on the Moving Down, I forgot to pause after walking around Carla. I KNOW I’m supposed to pause. I’ve been told by other judges that I MUST pause. I tell my students in the class I teach, that they MUST pause, but for some reason, my brain sees the word “Moving” and off I move, no pause, minus 10 points! The other 5 points were just sloppy heeling and sits – so Carla did great but is clearly hampered by her handler of little brain.

Today was better, Carla was a little distracted, but I was a little more together so together we did fine and scored 88. We lost 4 points for repeating an exercise, the 90 Degree Pivot -Left. Carla didn’t sit after the pivot and since we don’t usually have a problem with this, I wasn’t sure if she didn’t sit, or if she sat but popped back up. I wasn’t willing to risk the 10 points if she had popped, so we just redid the exercise and took the 4 point hit. (Turns out, as you can see in the video, that she didn’t sit, but I didn’t know that at the time.) Our other deductions were just onesy-twosies. I paused a second on the Moving Stand (which you can see in the video), and then right after the stand, on the Slow heeling I was trying to keep Carla slow, but was really giving her the same hand signal for Stand so she was a little confused. She also drifted a little at the heeling around the food bowls, and again when there was a furball floating by on the floor. I also finished the course by passing the last sign on the wrong side. Ugh. We did have a great back up, although Perry was so excited to watch it live, that he forgot to capture that exercise on film :~(

The honor exercise that I was really worried about went fine both days, although she almost broke her sit today when someone’s camera flash went off.

All in all, 2 Qs, 2 4th place rosettes, and a kid free night away from home. Priceless .

So, one more leg, and we’ll have our RE! I’m not sure what we’ll do after that. I’m not much interested in going after our RAE title, so we may try and buckle down and make some progress on agility. We had a breakthrough on our teeter work last week, so I’m feeling a little better about our agility prospects.

Leave a Reply

